RSS Feed

Joseph’s tale

I wrote this for the Church Christmas party a couple of years ago, it’s one of my favourite songs that I’ve written.  This is one of those songs where you write the first verse with quite a cool but complicated rhyme scheme and then spend the rest of the song wishing you’d not bothered!

*  *  *  *  *

Hello, My name is Joe

I was a carpenter in Nazareth a long time ago

This is my story, it’s one that you might know.

You see Mary, my wife to be,

She got pregnant but the dad wasn’t me

So I planned to divorce her quietly

.

But then an angel appeared in my dream

He said “things aren’t quite what they seem

And I know it’s hard, I know it’s scary

But you’ve got to stick with Mary

This child is God’s own son

This has been God’s plan since time begun

And it won’t be easy, it’s gonna be tough

But God’s strength will be enough for you.”

.

So I went back to my wife

I said “I’ll stick with you for the rest of my life

This is God’s son, His name is Jesus Christ.

I don’t know what the neighbours will say

And our family will probably turn us away

but I know it’s gonna be okay.”

.

So we went on down to Bethlehem

And he was born in a manger in a stable and then

Word must have got out as to where we’d be cos

A bunch of shepherds came to see us

They told us that some angels had appeared in the sky

And told them ’bout the baby who was God on high

So they left their sheep in the fields and came

‘Cos to see God’s child would be enough for them.

.

Next on the scene came three wise men

Bringing gifts of gold, myrrh and frankincense

Then they told us what these presents meant

Gold for a king who will reign on high

Incense for a priest who will glorify the Lord

And myrrh for the death he is going to die

.

Then all our guests went their separate ways

But the king heard the word and he went a bit crazy

and killed all the boys below the age of three but

We managed to escape and we went to Egypt

As time went on my boy grew strong

He had a black and white view of what was right and wrong

He didn’t mind when times got tough

Because God’s word was always enough

.

Then one day the pharisees got fed up

They nailed my boy to a wooden cross

And they left him there and they watched him die

But three days later he was up and alive

And he wants us to give him our hearts and lives

For the promise of the glory of eternal life

He doesn’t say it’s easy, no it’s going to be tough

But if we follow Him He’ll be enough for us.

Leave a Reply

