RSS Feed

Kingdom of Heaven

I wrote this after reading “Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell” by Susanna Clarke (one of my favourite books!).  There is loads of amazing imagery in the book about places where the land of Faerie touches England and sometimes you can see through into the other world.  I was captivated by this image and started thinking about the Kingdom of Heaven that Jesus talks about and how actually sometimes it does seem like you could just reach out and touch another world so I wrote this song about that.

*  *  *  *  *

Sometimes the kingdom of Heaven feels so close

Like I could peel back the world and let it in

Sometimes the earth feels like a ghost

The light grows faint, the sky feels thin

.

And I see the kingdom of Heaven, Close to me, the kingdom of God

And I feel the kingdom of Heaven, Drawing close, drawing close

.

Sometimes the kingdom is like the smallest seed

Ready to grow into the tallest tree

Sometimes the kingdom seems just like a pearl

Hidden away, but ready to shine

.

And I know the kingdom of Heaven, Starts to grow, the kingdom of God

And I feel the kingdom of Heaven, Drawing close, drawing close

.

Sometimes it seems it’s everywhere I look,

Written in the rain, drawn in the wind

Sometimes the world seems like an open book,

Ready to tell the story of it’s king

The Heavens declare your glory, the skies proclaim your deeds

The kingdom of God lies before me, if only I knew how to see

.

Sometimes it seems so far away

Sometimes it’s like a dream

But sometimes, just sometimes, sometimes when I pray

I catch a glimpse…

Leave a Reply

