RSS Feed

Remember the time

The middle section of the album is a series of songs based on the life of Jesus.  This is the end of that section and it is based on Jesus’ “great commission”.  Often when we can’t see the way forward, looking back can give us hope as we can see what God has already done and we are reassured that he will be with us in the future.  This song is basically about that!

*  *  *  *  *

Remember the time when we stood on the shore

And I asked you to follow me

You laid down your nets, gave up all that you had

For nothing but promises

.

Will you follow me now like you followed me then

Tell the world that we’re building a kingdom of Heaven

With my spirit inside you to comfort and guide you

And a whole load of promises

.

Remember the time when we walked through the land

Bringing hope, seeing miracles

With a message of love we were fanning the flames

of a fire full of promises

.

Will you follow me now like you followed me then

Tell the world that we’re building a kingdom of Heaven

With my spirit inside you to comfort and guide you

And a whole load of promises

.

Remember the time when we ate and we drank

And I told you “remember me”

I knew I had to go and I said I’d come back

And they seemed such vain promises

.

But I’ve died and I’ve risen so now everyone can,

I’ve done what I promised when all this began

.

Will you follow me now like you followed me then

Tell the world that we’re building a kingdom of Heaven

With my spirit inside you to comfort and guide you

And a whole load of promises

.

Will you follow me now like you followed before

Take the kingdom of Heaven to the weak and the poor

To the ends of the earth spread the message of hope

Fill the world with my promises

Leave a Reply

