RSS Feed

The cross of Christ

I’ve always loved old hymnals, they are a treasure trove of amazing poetry and theology and are often very beautifull books as well.  This song is based on an old hymn by John Bowring that I found in one of my old hymnals, I reworked the words a bit and added a chorus but it’s essentially the same hymn.

*  *  *  *  *

In the cross of Christ I glory,

towering over all of time

Turns aside the fathers fury,

fills my heart with joy sublime

When life’s troubles overtake me,

hopes deceive and fears annoy

Never shall the cross forsake me,

see it glows with peace and joy

.

By the cross of Christ I stand,

by the cross of Christ I stand

Grace that gives me hope of glory

by the cross of Christ

By the cross of Christ I stand,

by the cross of Christ I stand

Sinful, broken, yet counted righteous,

by the cross of Christ

.

When the summer sun is beaming

light and heat upon my way

From the cross the radiance streaming

adds more splendour to the day

Trial and blessing, pain and pleasure

by the cross are purified

Peace is there that knows no measure,

joys that through all time abide

.

By the cross of Christ I stand,

by the cross of Christ I stand

Grace that gives me hope of glory

by the cross of Christ

By the cross of Christ I stand,

by the cross of Christ I stand

Sinful, broken, yet counted righteous,

by the cross of Christ

One response »

  1. Hi Rich,

    Like what you’re doing with the site… wordpress is quality… Wondered if you want to chat more about vocations & stuff, sorry for delay at my end… was great to meet you and Lucie 07894230304

    Reply

Leave a Reply

