RSS Feed

The simple disciple

Often when you read the gospels you can tell that the disciples really had no idea what Jesus was going on about! I wanted to write a song that picked up on this so here it is.

*  *  *  *  *

I remember them well, all the things that he’d tell us

As we sat around the campfire at night

All the cryptic stories about a kingdom of glory

And the battle between darkness and light

And though they always would be very good

Things were never quite what they seemed

And I wouldn’t have minded if I didn’t find it

So hard to see what they really mean.


.

Now don’t get me wrong I always went along

With what I thought he was trying to say

Because like any student I thought it prudent

To keep my ignorance hidden away

But if I’m honest even though I promised

To listen to his every word

With some of his stuff, well, it was fair enough

But some of it was quite absurd!

.

‘Cos I’m just a simple disciple

Not the smartest, never top of the class

No I’m just a simple disciple

but I’m learning, and I’m learning fast!

.

Let me give you a sample, just a few examples

Of the tales that he used to tell

His skill at improvising never stopped surprising

Even those of us who knew him well

Like the prodigal son who took his father’s money

And when he’d frittered it all away

Came crawling back to his dad who didn’t get mad

But threw a party the very next day!

.

But as the end got nearer the tales got weird

He talked of snakes being lifted high

And that the son of man had this great big plan

That meant that he was going to die

And when we all laughed and said hey don’t be daft

We won’t let that happen to you

He turned to me and said “Hey man you’re over your head”

You don’t know what I’ve called you to do!

.

But I’m just a simple disciple

Not the smartest, never top of the class

No I’m just a simple disciple

but I’m learning, and I’m learning fast!

.

It’s strange but when he was here it was never clear

What his parables truly meant

We didn’t understand that they were part of his plan

To help us when he finally went

But now he’s been and gone and we must carry on

With what he’s called us all to do

Even the simplest brain can find a way to explain

What he’s done for me and you!

.

Yes I’m just a simple disciple

Not the smartest, never top of the class

No I’m just a simple disciple

but I’m learning, and I’m learning fast!

.

Leave a Reply

