RSS Feed

‘my 2011 to-do list’ final evaluation!

So the time has come to see how I did on my 2011 to-do list!

Write 1 poem per week

I’m afraid I failed miserably at this! I wrote a few poems through the year but probably not even 1 a month – 1/10

Write 1 song per month

I think I did even worse at this, I only wrote 1 song in the whole year and that was for Christmas! – 1/10

Compose some music for someone else

No – 0/10

Bake every recipe from the River Cottage Bread Handbook

I’m not sure I did every single one but I got very close and now own half a dozen other bread books which I have baked lots from. I also went on a day baking course at the School for Artisan Food near Worksop and the mini bakery blueprint course at Love Loaves in Oxford. I think it’s fair to say that I have become a bit obsessed with baking this year! – 10/10

Make a successful Sourdough

I did make a sourdough starter and baked a couple of loaves from it but it died when we moved house. I tend to just bake with fresh yeast now – 8/10

Build a bread oven somewhere

I didn’t build one but I did buy one from Bernito Pizza Ovens in Telford – it’s amazing and I can’t wait to start using it again in the spring! – 7/10

Make at least 1 thing from ever copy of Delicious Magazine

I did this while we subscribed to it but we stopped subscribing in about February! – 4/10

Have people round for dinner parties more often

We’ve definitely done this and we even hosted a big family Christmas which was amazing! – 10/10

Have Cream Tea in Ironbridge with Cath and Tom

We did this a couple of times before we moved to Bristol, lovely place, lovely people! – 10/10

Eat Spaghetti Bolognaise in Bologna

We were planning to visit Bologna while we were travelling round Europe in the summer but we changed our plan and stayed in France for the whole time (which was brilliant) – 0/10

Have a proper conversation in French

Oui, j’ai parle beaucoup de francais quand nous avons voyage en france! – 10/10

Learn more about renewable energy production

I’ve learned a bit, we’ve switched to Ecotricity and we now live near 3 large windmills which Charlie and I visited on a tour of the Avonmouth Docks! – 7/10

Go camping with Charlie

We spent a month camping in France in the summer and we camped at Soul Survivor and Greenbelt 🙂 – 10/10

Sing with Lucie more often

We sing a lot around the house at the moment but not much elsewhere – 7/10

Blog more regularly

fail – 2/10

Play cricket

fail – 0/10

Finish reading Shantaram

Yes – it is an amazing book, highly recommended! – 10/10

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Overall score – 5.7/10

Over half marks (on my admittedly fairly arbitrary scoring system!

2012 to-do list coming soon!

3 responses »

  1. Personally I think you have done really well! I think you should actually write a list of things which you didn’t expect to do but which you are really pleased with as well as this review, because life is just as much about the unexpected as planned for, and… I’m nosey! 🙂 x

    Reply
  2. Pingback: 12 things to do in 2012! « Bread ovens and bicycles

  3. Pingback: “12 things to do in 2012″ review! « Bread ovens and bicycles

Leave a Reply

