RSS Feed

#SourdoughSeptember Day 30

Huzzah, We made it to the end of the month!  I’d like to finish off by looking back at a few things I’ve learned over recent weeks.
.
1) Sourdough is a lot easier than it seems!
Just about every book about bread makes a point of saying that sourdough is easier that it seems but the myths persist.  Having spent a while using it however I really don’t think it is any different to fresh yeast except that it works a bit slower. 
.
2) It is helpful to have a basic grasp of what is going on inside
Since I wrote the post on the basic science of the sourdough starter I’ve felt much more confident playing around with the recipes and dealing with unexpected interruptions!
.
3) Bread songs are harder to find than I thought
Despite my confident assertions art the beginning of the month I’ve completely failed to find any! The one I had in mind at the start was John Barleycorn but it turns out that’s not really about bread.  I’ll keep looking and if I find any I’ll share them.
.
4) There is no logic to page views/likes
Some of the posts that have been most popular have been the ones that I’ve knocked out just to get something up each day.  Conversely the ones that I’ve spent ages on have gone almost unnoticed.  Ah well, c’est la vie!
.
5) The baking community is amazing!
I’ve had numerous helpful comments, suggestions and corrections this month including quite a few from actual proper bakers.  Thankyou to everyone who has engaged with this little project 🙂
.
6) I only really bake about once a week
I had hoped to do all sorts of exciting baking this month but in the end I only actually baked about half a dozen times and, apart from using sourdough instead of fresh yeast, there wasn’t anything I haven’t baked before.  To be honest I think the pressure of writing on the blog each day meant that I had less time for actual baking.  Hopefully I’ll have a bit more time to experiment in the coming weeks.
.
7) Baking for other people is the best
I think my highlight of this month was baking the Prosphora for our college communion service last week.  No matter how often I do it I always find it an honour to bake bread that will take part in that ancient liturgy.  To do it for a community of people that I am journeying with on a daily basis makes it doubly special.
.
8) when a 16 month old wants to help you knead the dough, say no
I’ve swept the flour twice and still find bits of dough stuck to my socks occasionally! (come to think if it I’m not sure whether that says more about Toby’s kneading or my cleaning…)
.
9) Blogging every day is hard work!
It does however mean that I’ve spent a fair bit of time each day thinking about bread-related things which has been fun.  I think there has only been one day where I’ve really had a mental block and struggled to get anything at all down.  I’ll leave you to decide which post that was!
.
10) The Real Bread Campaign is fantastic!
If you’ve enjoyed the blog this month please do consider joining.  They do great work not only promoting the benefits of real bread but also supporting baking lessons in schools, Community Supported Bakeries across the country, and a network of professional and amateur bakers who share recipes, advice, and terrible puns!
.
That’s it for the daily blog but I’ll try and keep posting fairly frequently. Thanks for reading 🙂

2 responses »

  1. How did the Harvest loaf go?

    Reply
  2. Ooh – read the Harvest loaf blog now! Lovely! There’s a kid’s song about bread – “Have you got an appetite?” by Mick Gisbey from 1985 – I’ll email the sheet music to you if you like? 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

