RSS Feed

Weekly Folk Song: 1 – The Grand Conversation On Napoleon

One of the challenges I set myself for this year was to learn and record a folk song each week.  Just to make it a bit more interesting for me I’ve set myself a few rules:

1) Songs must be sung unaccompanied.
2) Songs must be recorded without lyrics (i.e. from memory).
3) Songs must be recorded in one take (although this doesn’t have to be the first take!).

This first song (a few days behind but I’m sure you’ll forgive me!) is one of many that I learned from Jon Boden.  It is really fun to sing although learning the words took a few days.  I won’t go into much detail here about the origins of these songs, if you want to know more check out the impressive Mainly Norfolk site, but suffice to say that it dates back to sometime around the 1830s and it gives a fascinating insight into the way Napoleon was viewed at the time (he died in 1821).  For some reason it lapses into a call to join the Navy at the end (even though Napoleon was fought mainly on land) but it is a cracking song nonetheless.  Enjoy!

[audio https://audioboo.fm/boos/1844358-the-grand-conversation-on-napoleon.mp3]
Leave a Reply

