RSS Feed

#SeptemberSongs day 1 – Poverty Knock

So here we are at last, the beginning of this grand adventure which has been mulling around in my head for a while.

Each day this month I will try and post a recording of a folk song, sung unaccompanied, from memory.

Today I am singing one which I learned, as I have learned many of these songs, from Jon Boden’s “A Folk Song A Day” project.

This is a song about working in a cotton mill,I guess in the 19th century.  You can find far more information about it on Mainly Norfolk

I mostly like it for the first couple of lines which ring very true when you’ve got young children!

Lyrics: From memory
Takes: 2 (fluffed verse 3 first time round!)

Download: 01 Poverty Knock

Leave a Reply

