RSS Feed

My 2015 List

Each year for the last few years I’ve written a list of things which I want to try and do in the coming year (2011 2012 2013 2014).  I decided to break with my previous pattern of doing 11/12/13/14 things and just stick to a dozen for this year!

I’ll try and review last year’s list soon to see how I got on but for now here is my list for 2015:

2015 list

1 – Get priested!
I was ordained as a deacon last June and, if all goes well, will be ordained as a priest this coming June.  It feels like the culmination of a very long journey and I’m really quite excited about it!

2 – Get (and learn to play) a concertina
I’ve been fascinated by the concertina as an instrument for several years (particularly inspired by Jon Boden) and now I’m getting much more into folk singing I’ve decided to save up and buy one.  Hopefully by the end of this year I’ll have started to learn to play it.  watch this space!

3 – Do a daily blog in September
For the last couple of years I’ve done a daily blog through the month of September (on bread in 2013 and folk songs in 2014) and have thoroughly enjoyed it so I’m going to do it again.  I think this year I might try and write a poem each day but I’ll see how I feel a bit nearer the time.

4 – Go to at least one folk session a month
Since we moved to Whitchurch in the summer I’ve been to a few folk sessions in various pubs in and around town.  in theory I could go to one each Tuesday of the month apart from the 4th Tuesday and on the 4th Friday there is one at my parents’ Church so I’m going to try and go to at least one of these each month (ideally more!).

5 – Go on a 50 mile bike ride
I did this as one of my challenges last year and it was one of my best memories of our time in Bristol.  Now we’ve moved to a new place I’m putting it on the list again.

6 – Enter a poetry competition
I’ve thought about doing this before but never got round to it.  I’m going to try and make a more concerted effort this year and see how I get on.

7 – Perform at Whitchurch Blackberry Fair
I did this last year and it was great fun but I wasn’t really sure what the plan was as I’d not been before.  This year I think I’ll be able to do a much better job (especially if I manage number 2 in time!)

8 – Go on a family Microadventure each half-term
I love Alistair Humphreys’ idea of midweek Microadventures – punctuating the ordinary rhythm of life with short overnight camping adventures (more info).  We’re going to try and do (at least) one each half-term and I’ll try and blog about them here. I’m really excited about this one!

9 – Carve a wooden spoon
I’m going to link this with the microadventures – there is something immensely satisfying about sitting outside a tent carving something and spoons have the perfect blend of a simple design with endless potential for variety.

10 – Engage with local events surrounding the general election
I’m quite looking forward to the general election this year and would like to engage with local events in the run-up.  I’m particularly interested in hearing what local candidates have to say about the huge threats of climate change and environmental degradation (especially given that our current MP is former Environment Secretary and climate change sceptic Owen Paterson).

11 – Increase my Folk Song reportoire to 60 songs
One of my challenges for last year was to learn and post a folk song each week.  I didn’t quite manage that but I have now got nearly 40 folk songs that I can sing from memory.  I’d like to try and get that up to 60 this year and I’ll keep posting them as I learn them.

12 – Watch a meteor shower
Again this is something that I’ll try and link to the microadventures.  I’m not sure I’ve ever seen a shooting star but I really want to!  I follow @virtualastro on Twitter and now regularly go out to watch the ISS fly over but they also give tips on spotting meteor showers and I really want to see one so that is my challenge for this year.

.

So that’s my list.  What are you going to try and do this year?

2 responses »

  1. Great list, good luck and a very happy 2015 to you!

    My list is to learn Joomla (a web design tool) and to do as much photography as I can.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: 2015 list – review | Bread ovens and bicycles

Leave a Reply

